Carolyn's Online Learning Blog

Home » Uncategorized » Why blog?

Why blog?

I was recently tasked with choosing a tool for use in a graduate class that I’m taking. I could have chosen nearly any web tool. I looked specifically at learning management systems and at blogs, and ended up choosing to use a blog. I decided to use a blog because I feel that a learning management system is mainly a place for a teacher to post resources and assignments for students (Mbuva, 2014). While the students can contribute content in the sense of uploading assignments or even participating in a classroom discussion board, a learning management system is not primarily a place for students to exhibit or share their work. A blog on the other hand, is well suited to sharing a student’s work. Garcia, Elbeltagi, Brown, and Dungay (2015), Kovalik et al. (2014), and Quesenberry et al. (2014) all give examples of a blog being used by students to share their work and comment on others’ work. Since the thing I want to do is share my work and the things I discover in my studies and elsewhere both with my instructor and classmates and with the wider instructional design community, I decided on a blog.

References

Garcia, E., Elbeltagi, I., Brown, M., & Dungay, K. (2015). The implications of a connectivist learning blog model and the changing role of teaching and learning. British Journal of Educational Technology46(4), 877-894.

Kovalik, C., Kuo, C., Cummins, M., Dipzinski, E., Joseph, P., & Laskey, S. (2014). Implementing web 2.0 tools in the classroom: Four teachers’ accounts. Techtrends: Linking Research & Practice to Improve Learning58(5), 90-94. doi:10.1007/s11528-014-0790-1

Mbuva, J. M. (2014). Online education: Progress and prospects. Journal 0f Business & Educational Leadership, 5(1), 91-101.

Quesenberry, K. A., Saewitz, D., & Kantrowitz, S. (2014). Blogging in the classroom: Using WordPress blogs with BuddyPress Plugin as a learning tool. Journal of Advertising Education18(2), 5-17.

Leave a Reply

